I wish I could’ve watched baseball with Robin Williams

Robin Williams was a comedic genius.

Someone, who at the drop of a hat, could have us rolling on the floor with his improv. Losing Robin Williams was tough for me. I don’t see myself as a comedian, but someone who enjoys making people smile with inappropriate humor and witty banter. He always gave us glances of the more serious side of himself. Good Will Hunting and Dead Poets Society were incredible examples of the other side of him. And while I didn’t really know the extent of depression and additions that he was suffering from, I can relate a bit to who he was.

I cried when Robin Williams died, but not for the reason you think. I cried because I hoped that I wouldn’t end up like that one day. Living life behind the smiles, dying behind the sorrow. I took his death harder than most celebrity deaths (RIP Marilyn Monroe.) This is why I decided to finally seek help. To clear the cob webs. Fight the demons. To start swinging away.

mbddepo-ec015

Photo courtesy of nydailynews.com

Yesterday’s post on seeking therapy was my most read since I’ve been writing. 

My traffic doubled yesterday. (Sincerely-thank you for stopping by. It’s fun knowing that so many people are reading what I write and it’s not just going out into the ether.) But my goal here isn’t blog hits. It isn’t to become a world renowned author and travel the country speaking at different engagements. My goal is to live a healthier life. To share my experiences with you all in hopes that others like me can come forward and share their stories. To let others know that they’re not alone in their struggles. To honor Robin Williams. I am here to find my verse.

If you’re reading this now and you have some weight on your shoulders, reach out. You don’t always have to share as much as I do. (Trust me, my wife probably wishes I would tone it down a bit.) But talking to others does help. You aren’t alone. Most importantly, you are not a burden. Your worries, no matter how insignificant you may feel they are, are still your worries. They still sit on your heart.

You can reach out to me multiple ways:

email: nick.maestas@gmail.com

twitter: @nmaestas

facebook: facebook.com/maestas

myspace: HAHAHAHAHA LOL

If you want to chat baseball, life, or just need an ear (or eyes) drop me a line.  Seriously, please do. If you want my phone number, reach out above and I’d be happy to chat with you. You matter to me.

Lets ride through this journey together. Sit with me in the stands and lets watch a game together.

Leave a Reply

