An Easy Love…But I could never have enough!

This is an open letter to my son, Jack.

Dear Jack-

As far back as i can remember, I’ve wanted to be a daddy. I wanted a little boy to play catch with, to wrestle with, and to love with everything that I can.  I remember when your mommy told me that she was pregnant with you.  I had no idea it was actually going to happen and it looked like I was going to pull all of my hair out. Daddy may have even said a naughty word-but I asked for forgiveness shortly after 🙂

While you were in mommy’s belly, we were scared because the doctors said your heart had holes in it and your kidney was going away.  We wanted so badly to protect you, to hold you, and to comfort you so you knew everything could be ok.  We prayed hard for you lil buddy.  Everything has worked out well and now you are with us.  When you were born, it was the best day of my life.  I remember staying up late at night feeding you (although mommy did it way more) and you would give me a cute little smile while you enjoyed some of mommys milk. You have given me so much joy and I do not deserve to have you as my son. My love for you little buddy will be shared with you every single day and I don’t want you to ever feel like you’re not loved.

There may be times when you get in trouble that daddy has put you in a time out.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t love you…I just want you to learn that sometimes talking back to mommy & daddy isn’t ok. With every day, you become more and more respectful of your mom and me and I’m so proud to see you growing into such a beautiful young man. I still can’t believe that in just over one month, you are going to be two years old. I can’t wait to see you grow up and who you are going to be.

I want you to know, Jack, that the sky is unlimited. You are soooo smart and you catch onto things so quickly.  You can be whatever it is you want to be. President, aerospace technician, an electrician, baseball player, or spelling bee champion.  Whatever it is, fight to be the best you can be.  Work hard and you will never go wrong!

Before you were born, daddy wrote some words for you.  I’ve never shown anyone this but I read it to you when you were in mommys belly.  i want to share it with you now.

I love you Jack.

An Easy Love by daddy for Jack

I can’t hear you

but my heart feels you singing

I can’t touch you

But I can feel you surround me

I can’t see you

But I can hear your heart beating

I know you’re far away

But I have never felt closer

I can’t wait to be with you

To wrap my arms around you

Cause when you come

You bring me new life

Your simple touch

There’s nothing more divine

An easy love

But I could never have enough.

Time moves so slow

Anxiously waiting, anticipating

To see if this is real

To know it’s not make believe

How deep will this love grow

Will it be easy to make you mine

Cause when you come

You bring new life

Your simple touch

There’s nothing more divine

An Easy Love

But I could never have enough

I’ve never been more afraid

But I know we’ll be ok

Footprints in the sand

Walking hand in hand.

Cause when you come

You bring new life

Your simple touch

I’ll never understand

This easy love

but I will never have enough.

Leave a Reply

