The Flavor of the Week

I tend to go through spurts.  Not just in my faith but in everything-friendships, parenting, finances, physically…I find myself getting very giddy about the new “in thing” and I run with it for a few weeks until I get bored/lazy/fat/lazy. I dont know what it is, but as American Hi-Fi sang, i tend to find the “flavor of the week.” (now i want ice cream)

I wish I was much better than I am at sticking with things.  We dropped our Y membership to save money, but we have sacrificed our physical well being.  This weekend we were at a wedding and instead of looking at the healthy choices, I dug into cake, steak, and sweet tea.  I was so excited to see my son/wife after their trip to Columbus for a night that I was a horrible friend and forgot to go to a bachelor party.

I know that I’m not perfect-I never thought I was…I know I never will be…but I wish I was more consistent.

I’m reminded of Revelation 3:15-17

I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.

I wish that I could always be hot…(physically-i’m always a hot sweaty mess) but what I mean is I wish I always had a fire in my belly.  I wish I always cared as much as I do when I’m on fire about something.  I have been pretty passionate about the oil spill in the Gulf lately-but in a month, who knows what I’ll be passionate about-even though there will most likely still be thousands of gallons of oil spilling into our oceans still.

But what’s most importantly (Arrested Development lyric) I wish that I had a fire in my belly for God like I do when I’m listening to David Crowder sing “How he loves,” or when I listen to a great sermon or when I read a great new book.  but I don’t.  I fail. I lose interest. I lose a bit of faith. I get bored/lazy/fat/bored.

How do I break this pattern?  How do I keep the fire in my belly? How do I never  lack in zeal, but keep my spiritual fervor, serving the Lord?” (Romans 12:11).

How do you  keep from putting out the Spirits Fire?

Leave a Reply

