Savoring this heart that’s healing

i’m sitting in my favorite chair.  I have a cherry coke zero in one hand, a delicious lemon cookie made by the prettiest darn girl this side of the mississippi in the other hand, and a son who is sleeping soundly.  life can’t get much better.

after week one of my newest experiment on living a better story, life is feeling the way i think it’s supposed to.  i work with one of my best friends and when i wake up, i’m excited to go to work.  that’s the way that things are supposed to be.  you shouldn’t dread going to bed because you know that you have to wake up and go to a job that makes you a different person.  everyone at the Foundation has been so welcoming and accepting.  they i believe for the most part really enjoy me and i really like everyone i have met so far.  I have great office neighbors who are so friendly and say hello often!  I also have gone to two baseball games for free-some people at the foundation had extra tickets they couldn’t sell and gave them to us so a game with a friend and another with my wife.

i feel different.  i feel happy.  i know that i have a long road ahead of me trying to learn a new profession, but i feel like right now…in this moment…my future lies within this great company!!

another story i’m stoked about is this 20 mile bike ride coming up in just over a month!!  yesterday i rode 13 miles with my friend bob who will also be riding with us, and today i rode 18.5 miles!!  i think i might just be able to do this.

i’m living a better story-i’m happy with the new direction of my life-and i’m excited to find new stories to live!  God has been so good to us, maybe I should have had an open ear much sooner!

david crowder band’s cover of Flyleaf’s “All Around Me”

My hands are searching for you
My arms are outstretched towards you
I feel you on my fingertips
My tongue dances behind my lips for you

This fire rising through my being
Burning I’m not used to seeing you

I’m alive, I’m alive

I can feel you all around me
Thickening the air I’m breathing
Holding on to what I’m feeling
Savoring this heart that’s healing

My hands float up above me
And you whisper you love me
And I begin to fade
Into our secret place

The music makes me sway
The angels singing say we are alone with you
I am alone and they are too with you

I’m alive, I’m alive

I can feel you all around me
Thickening the air I’m breathing
Holding on to what I’m feeling
Savoring this heart that’s healing

And so I cry
The light is white
And I see you

I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive

I can feel you all around me
Thickening the air I’m breathing
Holding on to what I’m feeling
Savoring this heart that’s healing

Take my hand
I give it to you
Now you own me
All I am
You said you would never leave me
I believe you
I believe

I can feel you all around me
Thickening the air I’m breathing
Holding on to what I’m feeling
Savoring this heart that’s healed

One thought on “Savoring this heart that’s healing

Leave a Reply

