2010-My path to living a better story

After reading Donald Miller’s book “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” I have found that 2009, in terms of my laziness, was no different from 08, 07, etc… and with a new decade come new responsibilities and the need to live a better story.  Most of my days consist of waking up at 6, leave for work at 7, come home at 5:30-6, play with my son for an hour and a half, if my wife’s not at work we’ll enjoy dinner, some tv, some music, and go to bed.  I love my life and with our time constraints, it’s tough to do much more.  But when we do have free time, we need to make the most of it.  And with that, here is my 2010 guide to living a better story.

1. lose 40 pounds to get back to high school weight

2. Play with my son more

3. Enjoy the time I have with my wife and make the quiet time we do have together memorable

4. Watch less TV

5. Rely less on facebook when contacting friends

6. Let go of meaningless grudges

7. Begin the TeamMates mentoring program

8. 20 mile bike ride to raise money & awareness for diabetes

9. Go hiking in the mountains at least once

10. go camping & fishing at least 2-3 times

11. listen to more music

12.  build up our savings account

13. quit drinking pop

14. 1-2 specialty coffee’s/week

15. spend less money on eating out/junk foods

16. Find a way to make sure the homeless in downtown lincoln have access to food/warm beverages now that the Matt Talbot Kitchen has left the downtown area

17. Go to at least one concert

18. Go to at least one red sox baseball game

19. work out more

20. Read the bible in a year

21. Pray more

22. Read more

23. Blog more

24. Go to at least one of my sister’s events

25. learn how to leave work at work

David Crowder Band-All I Can Say

Lord I’m tired
So tired from walking
And Lord I’m so alone
And Lord the dark
Is creeping in
Creeping up
To swallow me
I think I’ll stop
Rest here a while

And didn’t You see me cry’n?
And didn’t You hear me call Your name?
Wasn’t it You I gave my heart to?
I wish You’d remember
Where you sat it down

Chorus:
And this is all that I can say right now
i know it’s not much
And this is all that I can give
yeah that’s my everything

Bridge:
I didn’t notice You were standing here
I didn’t know that
That was You holding me
I didn’t notice You were cry’n too
I didn’t know that
That was You washing my feet

2 thoughts on “2010-My path to living a better story

  1. I read that book in mid-January and it spoke to me as well. Unfortunately, I had some time constraints and had to breeze through the book in about 2 days, then I had to give it away, which didn’t leave much time for contemplation. I do want to “write a better” story and I’m at a great time in my life where I have a lot of possibilities. I hope not to live a life of mediocrity. Good luck to you in your journey!

Leave a Reply

