Entering the “Zoe Jane” part of life

A while back, i had a conversation with a friend about music and how our taste in music evolves as we evolve throughout our life.  I remember the first time I really started to change the angry, screamo music i was listening to into more of a mellow and not quite as loud type of music.  Back in the day, you would often find limp bizkit, korn, blindside, staind, *cough cough* nickelback *cough cough* amongst others.  I used to listen to old Staind all the time, songs like mudshovel.  While they are still really good and I will once in a while find myself going back there just for old times sake.  all of the sudden, the boys in staind started to grow up.  they all got married and had kids. their next album, the very last song was called “Zoe Jane.”

here’s a taste of the lyrics

want to hold you
protect you from all of the things I’ve already endured
I want to show you
Show you all the things that this life has in store for you
I’ll always love you
the way that a father should love his daughter

It was the first time I heard that song that I knew my life was changing.  I knew that I couldn’t live my life angry and full of loud music that would eventually blow my ear drums and any chance I had of having a girl kiss me in public.

Recently, that friend and I had another conversation about music and one of his favorite bands, Brand New, has a new album out and he said something that really connected with me.  He said “I just can’t relate to the angry music anymore.”  I then mentioned to him that he’s entering the “Zoe Jane” part of his life.  It’s funny to see where we are now, compared to where we were ten years ago as anxious and cocky high school graduates.

I’m definitely in the Zoe Jane part of my life.  Nothing in my life makes me happier than coming home, picking my son up and tickling him and hearing his huge loud belly laughs followed by the wettest, sloppiest open mouthed kiss (hopefully he learns how to simply peck before too long) and then putting my son down and hugging my wife.  My family is the one thing i can not live without.  You ask me what I would need on a deserted island, I say I need my ipod, coffee, and my family.  sometime soon, I want to put a timeline of music i listened to to see exactly how my music tastes have evolved with age.  But for now-here’s an appropriate song that is always in my head and puts a smile on my face every single time i hear it.

The Roots-Lovely Love my family (from yo gabba gabba)

All we need, all we need. All we need.
Spread the love around, yeah

Sometimes when I am sitting by myself
Those quiet moments when not with no one else
I’m mesmerized by all the many good things in my life
I think about the time when I was younger
And the older that I get the more that I feel wiser
With the love of friends and family
Get stronger and it carries me on through

So I say lovely lovely lovely lovely lovely
lovely lovely lovely love, love my family
So I say lovely lovely lovely lovely lovely
lovely lovely lovely love, love my family
So I say lovely lovely lovely lovely lovely
lovely lovely lovely love, love my family

Sometimes when I am waiting for the bus
The sun shines bright and I feel peace like nowhere else
I know I’m in good health and life keeps going, I keep moving, I’m alright
I go to school and educate my mind, and the way the world is spinning
makes me want to turn around and start all over, hit the reset and go back in time.

Oh baby love me
Oh spread the love around, yeah

So I say lovely lovely lovely lovely lovely
lovely lovely lovely love, love my family
So I say lovely lovely lovely lovely lovely
lovely lovely lovely love, love my family
So I say lovely lovely lovely lovely lovely
lovely lovely lovely love, love my family

 

Leave a Reply

