when negativity surrounds, I know one day it will all turn around…

i’ve been thinking about hope a lot lately.  i don’t know if it’s all of the 2nd chances that i’ve been given or just being driven to spend time with Him but something has sparked a fire in me.  Hope sits all around us, sometimes it’s just simply hidden by darkness but there is always hope.

Hope is what, in my opinion, drives us as a people to survive day to day.  Looking back at the 2008 presidential election, in a time when our country was (i guess still is) in turmoil, a man stepped up and offered a message of hope.  and while that is nothing more than political banter, we may never know.  But what I do know is that President Obama was a smart man, he took the one thing that people needed in these tough times and promised it to us.  He sparked a flame within the American people-a spark that hasn’t been seen in a long time and because of this-I believe he won the Presidency. Whether or not he delivers is yet to be seen.

But what we don’t have to see is the Hope that He promises us.  it’s a promise we know will not be broken.  in the darkest of times-we know that one day there will be no more wars, and our children all will play.  Matisyahu, a jewish rapper/beatboxer, has amazing lyrics.  If you ever get the chance, just google some of his lyrics and you will see words filled with hope.  now while we share a core difference in our faith-we both believe that our God will deliver on his promise.

a few weeks ago jenny, jack and i helped out with the flatland 24 church outreach.  it was a carnival in one of the poorest parts of omaha.  we saw many different faces-different cultures-different financial situations.  there was one girl who you could tell this was the social event of the year for her.  we did not push this man Jesus that they may have never met on her, but just simply showed her that we love her just because.  In that moment-it showed me that the clothes we wear, car we drive, house we live in doesn’t matter-for we are all promised a better life. Hopefully she saw that love and questions why these strangers love her. In some people’s eyes-there was unfortunately no hope.  But hopefully they could see the joy in their child’s heart from playing a game of bean bag toss and that could light a small spark.  all we can do is continue showing up and showing them who Jesus is by loving them.  and in that i can dream that they find some hope.

matisyahu-one day

sometimes I lay
under the moon
and thank God I’m breathing
then I pray
don’t take me soon
cause i’m here for a reason
sometimes in my tears I drown
but I never let it get me down
so when negativity surrounds
I know some day it’ll all turn around
because
all my live I’ve been waiting for
I’ve been praying for
for the people to say
that we dont wanna fight no more
they’ll be no more wars
and our children will play
one day x6
it’s not about
win or lose
because we all lose
when they feed on the souls of the innocent
blood drenched pavement
keep on moving though the waters stay raging
in this maze you can lose your way (your way)
it might drive you crazy but dont let it faze you no way (no way)
sometimes in my tears I drown
but I never let it get me down
so my negativity surrounds
I know some day it’ll all turn around
because
all my live I’ve been waiting for
I’ve been praying for
for the people to say
that we dont wanna fight no more
they’ll be no more wars
and our children will play
one day x6
one day this all will change
treat people the same
stop with the violence
down with the hate
one day we’ll all be free
and proud to be
under the same sun
singing songs of freedom like
one day x4
all my live I’ve been waiting for
I’ve been praying for
for the people to say
that we don’t wanna fight no more
they’ll be no more wars
and our children will play
one day x6
ooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

